Skip to content

Modus Operandi: Life is for Thrills.

October 8, 2010
by

What the fuck life? Why is it that I have to actually choose what it is I’m (supposed) going to do. You know what I’m talking about, you asshole. Look, at any given moment, I can think of twenty different scenarios for how the rest of my life will pan out. There are so many variables and so miserably few constants that the likelihood of me pinpointing my future is astronomically small. Thankfully for me, I have a vague idea of where I want to end up. Economics/MBA + Masters in Higher Education = some combination of having worked for NGOs/taught international socio-economics abroad. (If you ask me how I’ll get there, I’ll tell you I have no blanking clue.)

The real question is not how but why. Why Economics, teaching/education, law, international whatevers? Why? Because it sounds ridiculous, and looks like a shitload of fun. No really, I’m serious. This is a well thought out, intended to be challenging life adventure. So I suppose this blog has found a reason to continue. These are a list of the most ill-advised / stimulating things that I want to do, posted in hopes of finding something so ridiculously awesome … that I do it. And whatever absurd adventure I undertake, I’ll describe in honest detail here. Here’s to living a life full of thrills.

Thrill El Numero Uno

http://rickshawrun.theadventurists.com/

 

Drive this ... where?

 

The Rickshaw Run Autumn 2010 is going on right freaking now. (you can check live tracking on the website here, http://rickshawrun10a.theadventurists.com/index.php?mode=tracking) The basic idea behind this insane adventure is to drive a 150cc rickshaw (like the one pictured above) across India for two weeks. The cost is split into two parts, first your participation costs and second, a donation to a worthy charity based in India. Beyond that, it’s really up to your and your crew. Your destination is loosely the Himalayas (you read the correctly, yes) though there is no guarantee that you’ll make it. What part of this doesn’t sound like everything a human being needs to experience? Getting so lost you don’t care anymore. Check. Significant brushes with actual danger. Check. Experiencing a culture like you’ll never experience again. Check.

And if India doesn’t sound like your cup of tea, lucky you, there are several different races stationed elsewhere around the world. Africa anybody? But check out their info-blerb page about the League of Adventurists International Ltd and Adventure for Development. I’d work for them.

No comments yet

Leave a comment